Taking Stock of What’s Important

Being ill made me fall behind in a lot of things, work, my online shop, my degree… so I have had to work overtime, cram in study and complete orders.

Things are starting to settle back into more of a routine. So with this I have taken stock. My partner inspired this as he is a creative, intellectually hungry person who likes to read up on new subjects, try new projects and generally overwhelm himself.

He recently sat down and went through all the things he wanted to do and thought he wanted to do. Breaking them down into Do it Now, Do it later, Never going to do it, Maybe do it.

When we are children and teenagers there is the fluidity that we can do anything and most don’t know what they want to do, which if fine. When you are in your 20s there is a feel that you should start knowing what you want to do and the things you are interested become a little firmer. Hit 30s and apparently this is set in stone. We often do this to ourselves.

Say you wanted to learn a new language when you were 18. You studied a bit in your 20s but nothing major because already you have lost interest. In your 30s you should definitely let it go, but a part of you clings to it. Not because you want to do it but because it feels like a part of you, that if you let go you release a piece of your identity.

But we are fluid creatures, we move, we change and things we enjoy can shift, things that mean a lot can become insignificant as we get older. It can be hard accepting this.

Following my partner’s example (but making it less listy) I made note of the topics in my own life and then condensed it to what I would actually like to do. Where my time should REALLY be given. (obviously I have to work and do chores but I originally had a list of things that I may have enjoyed doing when I was younger or thought I wanted to do or worse, paid money out for but now they didn’t interest me).

So I have cut them away. Rather than dragging a cartload of “projects” and “topics” to complete when there is barely any interest, I have just noted what makes me happy, what I want to spend my spare time doing.

And here it is:
My "bubbly important" sheet

* “Family” embodied not only those of blood, but those of friendship and those animals I share my life with.

I am a visual person so I needed something colourful, visual that I could put on my wall and see. Now I might still not get them all done, in fact some will be given more time than others. But that’s okay. In the end this is a visual representation of what’s important to me and what I want to do.

By cutting away everything that isn’t important I can stop wasting my time and energy on things that have no meaning, give no real joy and that I have been clinging to as “who I was” not who I am.

What about you? Do you need to take a good look at your list? or your cloud bubbles? You may find yourself feeling better if you do.

Share them with me. 🙂

Ari

PS: As you can see “blogging” is in mine, I especially love this blog as I always enjoyed the kind and friendly comments I got on dA for my writing tutorials and I want to go back to helping writers. So hopefully, there will be more posts coming up.

5 thoughts on “Taking Stock of What’s Important

  1. I can do many things because I’m very versatile. However I have always considered to have a high degree of versatility like a curse because it made me jump from one thing to another and also dilute my energies. With time I became more selective and nowadays I only focus on those activities that not only I enjoy but bring some kind of results and benefits. In short I’ve become more practical with my creativity, in other words an activity or a pursuit has to give me something back in one way or another for me to do it.

    • Thanks for commenting, yes versatility can end up being restrictive. I did used to feel quite accomplished with my multi-tasking ability but it seriously ruined my focus by the end. Having the drive and patience to focus on things we love is so important, yet we often forget that. I have really tried to draw back my own crazy jumping and shifting attention to things I want to do and let go of those things that just stole my time.

      I found routine helped, like this blog… I started it in 2013 I think, with all the best intentions but it spurted and died because I was dividing my time and energy so much with other things. Now I have made the decision to post once a week on Friday’s and have actually managed it for the last few months. That has really helped me stay focused.

      The idea of a pursuit giving you something back as you say, I think that’s a great way to look at it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

