Sacred Spaces & Writing Routines

Organise Organize

Photo purchased from depositphotos.com

Hope you all enjoyed my little mid-week post I am bad at being an adult, just a little insight into yours truly 🙂

Anyway, onto today’s article! I recently made a decision to cut some things out of my life that had been choking my time.

Things I thought I needed to accomplish that in hindsight had just been stealing valuable time…and what’s worse, it had stolen valuable writing time.

Totally my fault of course, I had hit a slump following some family situations. My writing had been put on the back burner while I focused my time and energy on those that needed my support and assistance.

However when those situations had improved I found other things had crept in and suddenly I was back to almost no time for my writing.

I’ve been fighting a battle with myself to get back to it. Self-doubt and shaky confidence kept me from plunging right in.

One thing that has helped is a special place and a forceful routine. I have been working to try and reclaim my space for Writing. Wasn’t help by a leaking roof that meant I didn’t have my room for like 3 months!

Sacred Space To Write

While I used to be able to write anywhere, my best work came when I was locked away in my own personal room.

If you have a room you can use for your writing, I say use it! Clear it out, make it workable for you and use it.

Only in this current house have I had a ‘real’ room for my writing. I have a window behind me so I get lots of natural light but I’m not distracted to stare out of it.

Desk1

My desk is a good size and allows a monitor to sit out of the way. I use my laptop but like to connect it to a monitor and use a normal keyboard as I don’t like these dinky little laptop screens.

Desk3

This room is also where I do crafts and run my business so I had to make concessions for those. So my desk has pens (yay all the pretty colours!), post-its, notepads for my writing but also a place for my finished products and crafting tools.

I like that my desk is set in this corner. It makes this part of the room feel like a Writing Nook. The rest of the room has large units full of craft items, business stuff etc so the majority of my writing is just here at this desk.

Having this specific place for my writing allows me to get in the zone for writing. It is a work space (granted not just for writing) but it’s function is for working. I need that, I find that just having this space for writing mentally prepares me for the task.

Desk4

I even have a massive stack of “scrap paper” under the desk for when I am printing scenes for editing or scribbling large spider diagrams.

In this space I am focused. All the distractions are removed (excepted the coloured pens oh and the tiny dinos…next to my dymo labeller, can you see them?). My partner instantly knows that I am working when I’m in this room and his only interruption is to come in with a cup of tea and some food every now and then.

So whether it is a full room or just a corner of your bedroom, consider trying to make a Sacred Writing Space where you bring all your creativity, your energy and your passion for the task. You may even find it helps your productivity. 🙂

Writing Routines

In the many years I’ve been writing, I have found what really works for me and what doesn’t.

I need to have a clear desk (as you can see from the above photos) or at least the main working area needs to be clear.

I need to have natural light so prefer to do my writing in the morning.

I need tea, I just cannot start my writing without a cup of tea (I know, how British of me right?) 😉

Next all the phones are switched off, internet is disconnected and my door is closed – indicting “Don’t bug me, I’m working.”

Sometimes I will play one song before I start – if I will be writing an action scene then I put something with a strong, fast beat on. If I’m going to be writing something romantic I’ll put on a ballad etc.

I don’t leave my music on while I actually write. While I used to be able to do that when I was younger, the older I got the more I found it distracting.

When the song’s over and I’m ready to write I like to start off by reading the last scene I wrote, I find it puts me back into the mindset of that particular story line.

I don’t time myself while I’m writing, nor do I check the clock or separate my writing into timely chunks. I probably should but I prefer the writing to dictate when it’s time for a break these days.

Some writers suggest taking a break in the middle of a sentence that way you always know what you are writing when you come back. This does NOT work for me, tried it and ended up not remembering what I wanted to put at the end of that sentence. That made be stressed so I just stopped doing it.

When I follow this set up I usually find I can write for the whole day. It’s not much but this routine set up again is something that puts me in the writing mindset.

So, what’s your writing routine?

~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Yes! Finally, managed to upload this post at the right time. See, eventually I was going to get my shit together 🙂

Feel free to leave a comment, tell me about your own writing routine.

If you enjoyed this post please follow this blog.  I upload new posts on Fridays at 18:30 BST (mostly).

Visit my Tutorial List page where all my writing posts are listed in categories and with links for quick and easy access.

Pop over and visit me at my other places on the web, it will make me happy.

Happy writing

Ari

Leave a Reply

