Writer Life

WritersLifeSo there are these #WriterLife Tag questions that are bobbing around cyberspace. It has probably been around for years, but I am often (fashionably) late to the party so I have only just become aware of them.

Now being late never stopped me so I’ve decided to use this as a mid-week post!

I am not going tag anyone (just like I didn’t wait to be tagged), but if you are a writer and feel like answering these questions, please do.

Then drop me a comment to let me know you have so I can pop over to your blog and read them!


1. Write Fuel: What do you eat/drink while writing?

My drink of choice is tea, usually in a colourful mug and if I’m lucky with some biscuits included. I will sometimes bring water into my writing room… I don’t often drink it, but having it there makes me feel healthy by proxy 😀

As for eating, I eat whatever my partner is kind enough to bring me as and when he chooses to. If I’m in the house alone, it’s usually toast…or crumpets…the toaster (and kettle) are the only appliances in the kitchen I use. Stepford Wife, I am not.

2. Write Sounds: What do you listen to while writing?

If I am plot-chewing I can have music on. This will usually be AC/DC on repeat. Sometimes I have a playlist of classic rock that usually includes (but not limited to) Blue Oyster Cult, Asia, Quarterflash, Ram Jam, Poison, Styx, Kansas, Toto…and that goes on loop too.

If I am struggling with a really hard scene and it’s a specific scene, I will sometimes put some classical music on that reminds me of the scene’s themes.

Now if I am actually just sat writing the novel, I don’t listen to anything. I used to when I was younger but the longer I wrote, the more I found it affected my mood, distracted me (I like to sing loudly and out of key). So music slows down my writing.

3. Write Vice: What’s your most debilitating distraction?

Music!  Actually it’s Youtube. I can suddenly decide I need to check a video for some random reason and 3 hours later…I still haven’t got back to writing.

4. Write Horror: What’s the worst thing that’s ever happened to you while writing?

My computer corrupted and formatted itself (this was back with Windows ’95…showing my age here). I lost an almost completed novel, several new manuscripts (not completed) and a stack of ideas I had been working on. It was pretty hard to deal with, especially as a teenager. I stopped writing for a while because of that.

When I finally came back to it, I put backup processes into place (though I suffered another corruption of a back up before I learned I needed more than one!)

5. Write Joy: What’s the best thing that’s ever happened while writing or how do you celebrate small victories?

I celebrate small victories by telling my partner all about them, in an overly excited voice and lots of widely inappropriate arm movements! Well maybe not the latter… or at least not “inappropriate” but more “unnecessary”.

As my biggest supporter, he feeds my ego like no one else. After I’ve gushed about a victory, we then chill with a movie. Ahhh don’t I live the heady life of hedonism!

6. Write Crew: Who do you communicate with or not communicate with while writing?

While physically writing only one person is actually ever able (and brave enough) to approach me and dare speak. That would be my partner who has a full pass into my writing cave. Our communication is usually without eye-contact and just a brief but kind “thanks” on my part as he deposits the tea and crumpets then leaves.

Everyone else is not permitted near me…though due to my anti-social nature, I kinda feel like that normally…with or without the writing :p

Actually my writing is pretty private, if you know anything about my works, or are involved in any way as a beta reader, research partner, question answerer, brainstormer, then you should feel quite chuffed because I don’t open my writing life to many people.

7. Write Secret: What’s your writing secret to success or hidden flaw?

Write for you. The manuscript you should write is one that you love, you crave. It should be the book that you would want to read over and over. It should be the one that if someone asked to borrow it you’d be like “errr…no,” because it’s your favourite.

Don’t write to be published or to see your name on the cover, don’t write for money or fame. If you get those, treat them as a bonus, but write for the sheer unadulterated love of writing and the story that is burning you inside, dying to be told.

8. Write-spiration: What always makes you productive?

I’m always thinking about my manuscript(s), even while at work filling in spreadsheets… half of my brain talking through the character dialogue. However if I’m struggling a bit, maybe with writers block or whatever I will sometimes put on a movie of the same genre.

So, if I’m writing my fantasy then I might put The Princess Bride on, if I’m writing my Sci-Fi, I might put on Galatica or Alien. If I’m chewing on a specific part of my novel, like a murder scene, I might put NYPD Blue on or Criminal Minds.

I find submerging myself in the genres can help kickstart my productivity.

9. Write Peeve: What’s one thing writers do (or you do) that’s annoying?

I do so many things that annoy me… I think my biggest pet peeve is that I will write on different computers then promise myself I will move everything onto my laptop…then I don’t, then I lose my pendrive that has some other scenes on…. then I have a meltdown when I can’t locate those really awesome scenes…. I usually find them again and we repeat the whole thing again!

I also sometimes rush to save things and just hit random keys so my scene will be saved as dfjdfhsd…. then I get annoyed that I have to go through dozens of documents with names like that.

10. Write Words- Share one sentence from a project. Past or present.

It ended suddenly, but the pain remained, seeped into blood and bone and sinew. He lay exhausted and terrified, sucking in air like a drowning man.

(Yes that’s two sentences, but I felt generous!)

~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

If you want to take part in this tag (if you haven’t already, after all I’ve pointed out that I’m very behind the times!) then please do let me know so I can have a gander at your answers.

Like what you read? Consider following this little blog (it makes me happy). I upload new posts on Friday at 18:30 BST

This blog is probably the most social place for me so feel free to drop me comments here, I always reply to them and I have actually got better at replying within the same MONTH as the comment is left in. Pretty good huh :).

Happy writing

Ari

One thought on “Writer Life

Leave a Reply

