The Power of Questions

Question Marks - Colorful 3D Symbols

In this era of self publishing I have found that many (not all) of the self published books I’ve read haven’t really felt like completed, polished works. I am left asking questions throughout the entire book.

It is like so many writers are in such a hurry to get published that they haven’t actually taken the time to really work through their manuscript at the deepest level.

What I’m finding is books with great potential that just fall too early. Books that if the writer had just taken more time, had just asked some questions, maybe they would have been something a little better.

This brings me to The Power of Questions.

As a writer I have found that questions are so damn important to helping you make your story great.

When you read through your draft, or your scenes or whatever section you feel like reading through (depending on how your writing/editing process goes) you need to be asking questions constantly.

Things like spelling and grammar can be picked up later, get those questions asked and write them down…oh and then answer them! (that’s important too)

I like to write my novel in scenes (not chapters or huge blocks of text) but by specific scenes. When I finally come to weaving the whole thing together, it takes no time to add in those tie-ins that have one scene move to another.

So when I read through my scenes, I list the questions at the bottom.

What am I supposed to be questioning?

Everything! You need to be able to account for things in your novel.

For example, say you have the following line in your scene:

The sun hung low in the sky, a pale disc barely peaking through the clouds.

Immediately my question is, what time is it in this scene? Would the sun be low? What time of year is it? After all if you have set up the scene earlier and have mentioned that it’s the height of summer and it’s noon, the sun won’t be low in the sky… depending on your location.

It may seem trivial but even small queries like this need to be addressed. Firstly some readers are bound to pick up on it, secondly if you miss these then what else have you missed?

You need to develop the habit of asking questions throughout every scene. It doesn’t have to be stupid things like “Why are the curtains green?” But there will be things within the scene that need to be confirmed, justified, explained. Questions also help to reduce continuity issues.

I have a personal example within my own manuscript.

A character drove to a specific part of the city, entered a shop, then walked down the street in search of someone, while walking they get grabbed and carted away. Fast forward to later on, drama has happened but they were brought back to their home directly. Next day this character needs to go somewhere…. where’s the car?

I had just written the next scene that they step outside their apartment and climb into their car.. but the car had been left at the shop and then they were taken. Those who took the character returned her to the apartment not to the car. I had just breezed right over that.

On a second pass it was glaringly obvious but it had been so minor it was easy to miss.

Questions are brilliant. You always need to be asking yourself questions – why does character A do that? Should character B really react that way? Would these characters even get cell reception if they are hiking up that mountain? If that couple just had a screaming row, would they really be organising a dinner party one hour later?

When you start to critically look at your work and ask these kinds of questions, you start to develop it as a habit and errors stop slipping past you (well, maybe not in the first pass)

If a book leaves me with too many unanswered questions it’s usually considered a bad book in my eyes and will put me off the author. If I’m reading it going “but why would he say that?” or “but surely if someone just died in the school people would at least react?”

For example: If 5 people are killed inside a church, the church would be unlikely to reopen the next day and carry out a wedding as normal.

And if it did, there would need to be some specific statement that this murderer is not able to kill faith or that this church will remain a beacon of hope and not merely known as a murder site….

Think about what you are writing, think about what you are reading. If you have someone you trust to give you an honest critique, let that person in. Either a good reader or another writer will often be able to query issues that you may have missed.

Develop the skill in questioning what’s going on, not just at a high plot level, but even at the smaller levels. It all helps.

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

I hope you found this article to be useful and that you start to look more critically and questioningly at your own work.

If you enjoyed this or any of my other tutorials (links to them can be found on my Tutorial Page) then do please follow this blog and click a few likes, they always make a me. 🙂

Normally I upload my blog posts on a Friday at 18:30 (BST) however today is Saturday so ….yeah…next week I will be back on with a Friday post 🙂

Please make sure you check out the mid-week post from my Guest Blogger, writer Stephany Irwin on Experiences with Literary Agents.

I have a few more Guest Writers lined up for mid-week posts throughout the coming weeks, so do keep an eye out for them (they should be uploaded on Tuesdays).

Happy writing

Ari

Note: Photo purchased through Depositphotos.com (supporting other creatives):)

Save

Leave a Reply

