Guest Post: Interview with Morgan Ré

As mentioned recently I am having some mid-week posts done by generous guest posters. This week’s guest poster is the wonderful Morgan from the blog Allnighterwriter, she has finished her manuscript so I decided to do an interview style post with her so she could share her wisdom.

INTERVIEW with Morgan Ré

Morgan

Q01 – When did you decide you wanted to become a writer?

Ironically, as a Communication major, I was not a fan of writing growing up but I gained an interest in it while in college.I guess my tolerance for writing grew because I was actually interested in the subject matter that I had to write essays about. While in school, I had the opportunity to do a Directed Independent Study with one of my favorite professors where I had to write an extensive essay (fifty pages) that will eventually become a chapter in her textbook. That was the moment that I realized that I wasn’t that bad of a writer and I wouldn’t mind having the opportunity to write even more so I joined my school’s newspaper for a summer semester and I wrote blog posts for a few internships and after that, I just couldn’t stop writing.

The idea to write a book came out during one of my internships which was with a self-publishing company and after interacting with other authors and experiencing the processes of self-publishing, I thought “I could do that” so I one day started writing a children’s book that I planned on illustrating but it escalated into a full on novel.

 

Q02 – Did you find people supportive when they learnt you were a writer?

My mom was very supportive of my decision to become a writer, as was my boyfriend. I figured that my dad wouldn’t take my decision as seriously so I don’t plan on telling him or anyone else until I actually publish my novel.

 

Q03 – What is your dream goal for your writing?

I really just want to get my book published. Yes, it would be nice for it to sell well but I want to finally have published a book and it’s one thing I can cross off my bucket list.

 

Q04 – What is the title (or working title) of your current manuscript and can you tell us a little bit about it?

The title for my work in progress is Wisp. The story is about young Niamora who believes she is a regular kid but soon learns from her unearthly cousins that she is a first-generation Earth-bound Arqueinn who is destined to fight the evil Zynthians who murdered her grandparents and nearly wiped out their planet. Nia must train for the ultimate battle against good and evil and avenge her grandparents’ death, all while not losing her two best friends in the process who also happen to have secrets of their own.

 

Q05 – Which genre does this story come under?

I would consider my story to be fantasy targeted towards middle to early high schoolers.

 

Q06 – How long have you been working on this manuscript?

It only took me about a month and a half to finish the manuscript but it has taken me longer to edit it since I haven’t had much time to dedicate towards it because of school and work.

 

Q07 – Would you ever want to see a story of yours turned into a movie?

I wouldn’t want my novel to turn into a movie because I’ve seen how a movie can be completely altered from the book and ruined and I wouldn’t want that to happen to my story.

 

Q08 – What is the hardest part of the writing process for you?

I enjoyed writing my manuscript but I honestly hate editing. It’s tedious and sometimes brutal because I have to rip my own story apart and completely cut out some scenes that don’t make sense while leaving plot holes in other places because something major was removed so I will have to go back and fix another part and repeat this over and over again.

 

Q09 – What are your thoughts on Self Publishing?

I am a big fan of self publishing and plan on doing it myself. I like the idea of being independent and having a say about your own work without having to have a traditional publishing company determine if they will publish my story based on whether they think it will sell well.

 

Q10 – What is the single best piece of advice you could give to new writers?

For blossoming writers, I suggest starting a blog as it’s one of the best things you can do if you plan to pursue a career in writing or improve your writing skills. It’s great practice and can act almost as a journal, depending on the type of blog you want. If you can’t think of what type of blog to create, write about your interests, hobbies or chronicles about your life’s journey. I would also suggest, writing for other blogs if you can and writing about topics outside of your comfort zone. Both are also good ways to improve one’s writing skills You can write about almost anything by simply researching about that subject. Content writers do it all the time, as do I for work and have for internships in the past.

 

Q11 – Are there any authors you would love to meet in person?

I would love to meet Toni Morrison and James Patterson, two of my favorite authors.

 

Q12 – Tells us why you love writing

To tell you the truth, I’m not really sure why I gravitated towards writing all of a sudden. It’s just something I really enjoy doing. I’m also an artist (traditionally and digitally) and love to express different forms of creativity and I guess writing fits into that category. It’s fun emerging myself into a story I created and seeing how it builds into a world of its own.
LINKS

Website: https://allnighterrwriter.wordpress.com/

Twitter: @AllNightrWriter

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/morganmzre

Instagram: @allnighterwriter

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

A big thanks to the lovely Morgan for guest posting here at The Eternal Scribbler. I hope you all enjoyed this interview as much as I did and do please make sure to check out her social media links.

As always thanks for stopping by, if you like what you see, do follow this blog. It makes me so happy!

Happy writing

Ari

2 thoughts on “Guest Post: Interview with Morgan Ré

  1. Pingback: My Interview with Fellow Writer, Ari Meghlen | All-Nighter Writer

Leave a Reply

