Guest Post: Interview with Amir Ghazi

This week’s mid-week Guest Post is done by the lovely Amir Ghazi from World of Horror.

INTERVIEW with Amir Ghazi

Amir

 Q01 – When did you decide you wanted to become a writer?
The first story I wrote (In Persian) was when I was eleven. The name was “Three Bears”, a fantasy, mixture of Shrek and other my favorites characters. At that time no one believed me and nobody cared my ideas and writings, so I gave up at thirteen and started reading horror fictions. When I entered college, I started writing again, but this time in English.

Q02 – How long have you been writing?
For four years and this time I’m not going to give up this career.

Q03 – What is your dream goal for your writing?
Every writer has his own dream goal. Some just want to get published and some fight for winning awards and prizes. Mine is to become the bestseller.

Q04 – What is the title (or working title) of your current manuscript and can you tell us a little bit about it?
The title is “The Nightmare”. I’m working on the first draft. Here’s the blurb of the novel:

When fourteen-year- old Allen Foster is diagnosed with parasomnia, a sleep disorder evoking vivid nightmares, he begins journaling each haunting dream on the advice of his psychiatrist, keeping the notebook safely hidden in a floorboard — that is until a new family moves into the Maine house. When Rita, the daughter of the new owners, discovers the book and begins experiencing Allen’s old nightmares, she tracks him down in an effort to rid herself of the misery, only to find he has no memory of writing them.

Q05 – Why did you choose to write in your particular field or genre?
I always liked dark and mysterious places, ghosts and supernatural powers. Actually I love the sense of fear and I believe writing a horror story is hard because you must transfer the fear into the reader’s mind.

Q06 – What have you enjoyed most about writing this manuscript?
All the processes are lovely. From researching to editing and marketing. It’s all about learning.

Q07 – Would you ever want to see a story of yours turned into a movie?
Of course. Nothing is better than to sit in your home and watching the movie which is adopted from your novel.

Q08 – What is the hardest part of the writing process for you?
For me it’s writing the first draft (Although the second draft is the hardest part for many writers), but as I mentioned the whole process is lovely.

Q09 – Are you a full-time or part-time writer?  How does that affect your writing?
I write whenever I have free time. One day it’s just 500 words, the other day it’s 3k words. The truth is that you should not leave writing for a single day.

Q10 – What is the single best piece of advice you could give to new writers?
Read, read and write. If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have proper tools to write. Write and read every day to sharpen your skills.

Q11 – How do you find or make time to write?
I have always a notebook and a pen with me, but recently I have switched to Evernote. I write any idea runs into my mind.

Q12 – Does anyone inspire you?
There are only two people in my life who inspire me most of all: One is my English teacher and the other is Stephen King. Both of them taught me how to write better.

 

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Thank you kindly for Amir Ghazi who gave up his time to answer the interview questions. I hope you all enjoyed this interview as much as I did and do please make sure to check out his blog World of Horror.

I’ll be back on Friday with my own blog post. If you enjoy this blog, do please follow it. Makes me very happy!

Happy writing

Ari

15 thoughts on “Guest Post: Interview with Amir Ghazi

  1. I occasion to Amir’s blog for the useful literary charts, of which his blog is a rich reservoir. It was great to read his interview and get to know him more. The glimpse of his novel has introduced a curious plot.And I admire the fact that he included his English teacher as a source of inspiration. I owe my English teachers too,all of them for the inspiration. Thank you, Ari for sharing this! 🙂

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment, I am glad you enjoyed this guest blog. I hope to have Amir back in the future for another guest post 🙂

    • Thank you kindly, I am glad you enjoyed this. It was fun interviewing Amir and I hope to have him back to do another guest post in the future.

  2. A wonderful interview with Amir, I have admired his writing for some time. Amir, it is great to learn more about you and your aspirations. Best of luck to you in all your endeavors.

  3. Pingback: Guest Post: Interview with Amir Ghazi – World of Horror

Leave a Reply

