Simple writing tips

Simple writing tips.jpgThese are just a few simple tips that will help you in your writing.

Get Other Things Done First – If you have something else that needs doing and it can be done first, just do it. Especially if you might be chased about it from a family member. It can be better to start writing without that chore/requirements etc having over you. If you promised to walk the dog, or mow the lawn or do the laundry, do it.

If you didn’t promise and nothing is going to get chased, that’s fine. Don’t give people a reason to interrupt you.

Hide Yourself Away – I’ve mentioned it before but I cannot stress enough the importance of having a place to write. If you can steal a spare room, turn a cupboard into a cubbie-hole office, do it. Create that area for your writing. Then go there and lock everyone else out when you plan to write.

Let everyone know you are not to be disturbed unless the house is on fire or the zombie apocalypse has started. If you can get or make a “Do Not Disturb” sign to hang on your door, this is a good idea especially for all those forgetful family members who may just interrupt you three hours in.

 

Get Comfortable – Writing is a marathon sport. Most writers are long haul writers (sit and write for hours at a time), in that case you need to think “comfort.” Don’t skrimp on a uncomfortable chair. If possible, treat yourself to a really good comfortable chair – the type you know you can sit in for hours. Consider what you need – would armrests be good or not? should it tilt? What about a wing back chair for better head support?

I highly recommend buying one from a store where you have the ability to sit in it and get a feel for it. Buying online is great but just because something looks comfy in a photo, doesn’t mean it is.

Also, make sure you are set up right. Do you write on a laptop? Maybe get a laptop stand so the screen is at eye level and buy a separate keyboard and mouse. Better yet, use a separate monitor so you have a larger display (especially good if your laptop has a small screen).

 

Plan Your Writing – Avoid wasted time and frustration by planning what you want to write. This is especially good if you are doing a long haul day.Free writing can be fun, but if it doesn’t come you can be left sitting and stewing. You will write better and for longer if you have something ready to write.Maybe it’s a character profile, an active scene, a history scene, a full chapter, a smattering of dialogue…it doesn’t matter, usually once you’ve written something it triggers more.

 

Focus On A Clear Idea – In relation to the above, if you have an idea go for the strongest one first. Don’t fall victim to feeling you need to write the very beginning first. If you have a scene in your head that you know is half way through the story, just write it. If it’s been bouncing around in there it needs to come out. Get it out while you remember it.

Sometimes just getting these intense ideas out frees up more thinking time and brain-room for more ideas and maybe that beginning chapter will finally appear.

 

Don’t Stop for Something Small – Can’t think of a name for a minor character you just brought on and who is talking to your protagonist? Don’t stop and think for ages of the perfect name, just put NAME or X etc in bold or in red  or in brackets and just crack on.

You can fix/sort those pesky bits out later. Your non-writing time can be used for thinking up the right name or coming up with other smaller detail that can be added later. If it doesn’t slow down the plot, let it out and come back to it. The trick is to keep the flow going while you can.

 

Write Manageable Chunks – The way I write is by scenes not chapters. Since most of my chapters are broken into different scenes and will sometimes hop between one group of characters and another, I write my work in scenes then piece them together.

Don’t get swept up trying to complete whole chapters if you’re struggling. Just focus on scenes that you know and get them completed. It’s also a good idea to leave the word count too – if it really works for you fine, but be aware that word count goals can sometimes be constrictive. Not everyone finds them helpful, don’t just assume you will. Not sure? Try using word count goals for one week, and in the next week don’t. See which worked best for you.

 

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Thanks for your patience everyone and I’m sorry for the delay, this week has been a little anxiety-inducing and sometimes it’s just too much.

Because of this anxiety I haven’t felt up to a bigger more detailed post, hence no World Building but I’m off a few days next week so I’m actually hoping to get a few posts written and scheduled and one will 100% be a World Building one – I PROMISE!

There should be a guest blogger post up on Tuesday so do make sure you pop back then.

As always thank you for your views, faves, follows and comments. It’s really nice to know people are enjoying this blog and I love hearing from you – whether it’s here, on Twitter, Facebook or DeviantArt. 🙂

Happy writing

Ari

15 thoughts on “Simple writing tips

  1. Not sure what your ‘world builder’ blog is but this was great. Useful information and not so long that you lose your reader. I have read most of these tips before but the one that jumped out at me was “If you have something that needs done-do it.” I don’t know how many times I’ve tried to write and had thoughts of things that I needed to do float in and overpower my creative juices (so to speak). I do just what you said. Make sure everything I have to do is completed before I start writing so I’m not watching the clock or chasing away thoughts.

    • Thanks for the message. 🙂 The World Building mentioned in that blog post was the World Building Series I was doing. I come back to it over time. So far I’ve covered The Sun & Seasons, Land, Water, Atmosphere, Flora and Fauna. I had originally mentioned in the earlier post that I would be returning to the series… but hadn’t. Which reminds me….I really need to do another WB post.

      I try not to have extremely long posts and always break them into nice manageable chunks. I hate when there are huge paragraphs to get through with no breaks.

      Yes that is a good one to remember. Even now I sometimes catch myself starting writing while I have a chore I promised to do. It really does distract you. 🙂 Thanks for the follow.

  2. Really great advice! I’ve never written a full novel but I’ve had this story in my head for about 2 years, I have no idea how to stick the story together or even exactly how it begins but I’ve got those scenes and I’ve started writing just them to see where it takes me. Hopefully more will come :).
    Don’t worry about not getting posts out we all love reading your posts whenever you put them up:). I, hope your anxiety gets better.
    I don’t have a deviantart account, do you have art work up there? Not sure exactly how that site works, lol.

      • Thank you for that. I feel like you’ve given me that push to really get going :). I do have an ending in my head and most of the middle (though a bit all over the place)…I’m terrible with beginnings though lol, I guess I have to start from the middle as the starting from the start is just leading to frustration and I’m getting nowhere. Thanks 🙂

      • Lol I also hate beginnings and prefer to jump in hodge-podge and start writing random scenes usually within the middle. I find the beginning eventually comes. 🙂 They say as long as you have an ending the rest is easy(ish) 🙂

      • I hope so! My book is coming to me more like scenes in a film and that’s why it’s all over the place, it’s just a scene here and there (the most dramatic or heart-wrenching ones come to me first) so I hope I can put it together one day. :/

      • That’s how I write! 🙂 It is always in scenes, never in chapters and rarely following on from each other. It’s like the storyboard they create when making films/animation 🙂

      • Yeah, start from the middle – that’s usually where the exciting stuff happens anyway. It’s not like anyone really remembers a great beginning anyway. 😀 There’s some tip I learned where it’s advised people cut out their first three chapters and make their fourth chapter their beginning because usually people try to cram as much context and exposition as possible rather than starting where the exciting bits are. Good luck! x

      • That is very true. Many is the time I’ve written loads of scenes only to find one of the middle scenes works WAY better as a first chapter 🙂

Leave a Reply

