Guest Post: You’re Never Too Old To Learn

This week’s guest post if by the lovely Lorraine Ambers, Writer and Queen of Daydreams, who talks about who own personal experiences and how you really are, never too old to learn.

Lorraine AndrewsYou’re never too old to learn by Lorraine Ambers

Exam result time is upon us. People are waiting in angst or hope for their future endeavours. Now-a-days pupils are taught through positivity, that if you try you can succeed. This method is new. Teachers used to drill home the concept, that exam results were the pinnacle upon which success hung.  That without great grades adults would scrape the bowels of existence. Facing perils for evermore… Blah blah blah!

Let me offer my perspective about your potential, by telling you my story of triumph in the face of adversity.

I was a shy, introverted child, complicated further by being an army brat. (That’s what children in the military were known as.) Every 2-3 years we’d pack up and start the tedious process of self-discovery, friendship-making and settling down. Each move got progressively harder.

In exchange for chores, and I suspect company, mum allowed me to stay home most days. As the eldest of four, I loved the quality time. Together we’d drink tea, chat and take care of my baby sister. My attendance was none existent. We left the army when I was thirteen, where a particularly hellish year ensued. Lots of moving around and a total of four different schools. Until I finally arrive somewhere I could call home, Wales. Even though I skipped a lot of school I still maintained high grades until my GCSE years. My grades plummeted, with no way to catch up. The glaring pot holes were too obvious.

I stayed on at school to study art but old habits are hard to break, my absences resulted in no qualifications. However my wonderful art teacher Mr Clay (Real name) understood my passion, tried his hardest to get me to commit and recommend interior design.

My mum’s one wish for me was to get a skill to fall back on, even if I didn’t use it straight away. She always regretted that she’d left school with no grades and assumed her future prospects were over, that she’d had her chance and blown it.

By now I was eighteen. It was nothing short of a miracle that I was given a placement in college and for the first time I was excited about learning. A cruel twist of fate changed my life mere days before college began, Mum died. I somehow managed to finish that course, I’m still not sure how. I started preparations for university or working in the field.

Home life was complicated, at the age of twenty my dad passed the parenting baton to anyone willing and I became a lone parent to my younger brother and sister. My plans for further education fell at the wayside. My life was set upon its own unique trail.

As humans we are evolved to adapt to new situations and survive the harshest of environments. There is a lot to be said for throwing someone in at the deep end. Today I am proud of all my achievements.

Apart from being a writer I also manage and develop properties, I never gave up on my passion of interior design but adapted it to suit me and my family.

I’m also a partner in a company where I’m responsible for administrations. I taught myself how to run the business using other resources, like Dummies guide and YouTube.

*  Is that what I wanted to do – NO!

*  Am I good at it – Yes!!

I am not advocating education is unimportant.

What I’m saying is that despite obstacles, background or missed opportunities; everyone has the spectacular ability to keep learning.

Don’t believe for a moment that your chance has passed, that you blew it or your life is over before it began… it’s not! Pick yourself up, dust yourself down and move forward. It’s OK if it doesn’t all click into place right away. It’s OK if you don’t have all the answers.

Just don’t give up on your dreams and never EVER stop believing in yourself.

Connect with me
Blog: www.lorraineambers.com

Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/AuthorLorraineAmbers/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/lorraineambers

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/53656267-lorraine-ambers

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/107242395065972395481

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/fantasywriter_lorraineambers/

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Thanks muchly to Lorraine for sharing her experience in this guest post. Do please take the time to check out her social media links.

Regarding my posts, apologies for the lack of post last week. I have been struggling recently, add to that a family emergency and then a few anxiety attacks, didn’t make for a good week.

There will be a post this Friday, I promise. Thanks for your support and patience.

Happy writing

Ari

NB: photo supplied by the guest poster

Save

4 thoughts on “Guest Post: You’re Never Too Old To Learn

  1. Pingback: My first guest post – Lorraine Ambers

Leave a Reply

