Guest Post: “Love, twue love”

Today we welcome back to this blog the wonderful Pearl R Meaker, author of the Emory Crawford Mysteries. Enjoy!

“Love, twue love.”

by Pearl R Meaker

Pearl - Wedding.jpg

This blog is being posted on February 14, 2017 – my 41st wedding anniversary. Still happily married after all these years.

Today is the “love holiday” and, like the movie “The Princess Bride” from which I borrowed my title, most stories have love in them somewhere along the way.

It might be love done well, or love gone wrong. Maybe love long lost and mourned, or love that is being newly sought. It can even be all of the above and more.

It may even be the self-love of the narcissist or someone who is in love with money or some other inanimate object.

Love is usually in there somewhere if only because love is in most of us. We can relate to love.

But what do you, as a writer, intend to do with love? The answer to that depends on the sort of book you’re writing, your characters and you.

If you are writing a romance the love needs to be front and center. All the other plots and twists will strongly connect with the romance. In other genres it might not always be so clear how important the love interest needs to be. The love can be a major player even when the book is military science fiction. (Remember how much we cared about the romance between Han Solo and Princess Leia?) Or it can be a subtle seasoning, adding flavor to your steam-punk thriller or social-angst filled literary classic.

My books all have touches of love in them even though their focus is the mystery my protagonist, Emory Crawford, is working to solve. Emory is happily married to her husband Jebbin and it shows in their gentle banter, comments made before shutting their bedroom door, and even in heated discussions when they are concerned for each other.

Other characters in my three books have issues with self-love and extramarital affairs, loss of love because of death, abusive love and misplaced love that leads to poor decisions. None of these “loves” are the focus of the plot but they all definitely affect it because it affects the people involved.

Next time you’re reading your favorite genre, especially if it isn’t categorized as a romance, look for the love. Observe what it tells you about the characters and how it influences their words, actions and decisions. Particularly if you’re reading a mystery –  after all, the four “L” motives for murder are lust, lucre, loathing and ….

love.

CONNECT WITH PEARL

Website    –    https://www.pearlrmeaker.com/

Facebook  –    https://www.facebook.com/PearlRMeaker

Twitter      –    https://twitter.com/PearlRMeaker

Pinterest   –    https://www.pinterest.com/PearlRMeaker/

Goodreads  –  http://bit.ly/2lvq49o

The first Emory Crawford Mystery at Amazon    –    http://amzn.to/2kwZQiw

Pearl’s first guest post – Where do you get your ideas?

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Thank you so much to Pearl for coming back to this blog for another guest post! I knew it would be a good one as soon as I saw the title 😉

Hope you all enjoyed this post, do please check out her links and if you missed it the first time around, I’ve included a link to Pearl’s first guest post on this blog.

I promise I will be back on Friday (I know I didn’t manage it last week). Thanks for all the recent follows and all the comments, I’m glad to see that people are enjoying this blog.

If you are interested in being a guest poster and getting some exposure, please check out [this] post for details 🙂

Happy writing

Ari

NB: Photo supplied by author

About Ari Meghlen

I’ve been a writer since I was given unsupervised access to pens and can’t write anything shorter than a trilogy. I live in the greener part of the UK with my awesome boyfriend, 3 mad cats and 1 overly-confident budgie. I spend my time lost in imaginary worlds, making jewellery, taking nature photos or watching bad movies. Connect with me on: Facebook or on my Website or just leave me a comment on this blog. I love comments 🙂

7 thoughts on “Guest Post: “Love, twue love”

  1. Great post, Pearl! Love is always a part of a good mystery. I really like your title and photo, and happy anniversary! I look forward to more from Emory and Jebbin, who make a great couple!

  2. Pingback: Guest Post: “Love, twue love” | Pearl's Pearls

Leave a Reply

