Guest post: Interview with Gary M Sherwin

This week’s guest poster is the wonderful Gary M Sherwin who has given his time to answer my interview questions!

image1Interview with Gary M Sherwin

Q01 – Have you always wanted to be a writer?

Firstly let say thank you for asking me to do this interview.

To answer your question, yes. Its been with me since childhood and in fact I penned my first short story whilst I was at school. It’s only been in later life that I have taken that plunge into the writing world and written my first book.

Q02 – What was the best piece of advice you received/read when you were starting out?

Don’t edit! When I started writing I had the annoying habit of trying to edit my work as I went along but as you can imagine this slows down the writing process considerably. Now I just write and edit later.

Q03 – What is your dream goal for your writing?

To entertain readers in a way that I myself was growing up reading book after book and immersing myself in other worlds and lives.

Q04 – What is the title (or working title) of your current manuscript and can you tell us a little bit about it?

The current title is Immortalis: The Fallen it’s the second book in the series based on the homeworld Avalon, the  last planet to be colonized by humans that face an ancient evil rising because of one man’s curiosity and which will explain a lot more of what was going on in the first book, the fate of certain characters and new ones.

Q05 – How long have you been working on this manuscript?

The series itself has been in my head for over 10 years now but the first book has taken me 6 months to complete, the second will take far less due to the experience of writing the first.

Q06 – Are you a pantser or a planner?

I used to be a pantser but switched to planning which in all honesty is the best thing I’ve done since starting out.

Q07 – Would you ever want to see a story of yours turned into a movie?

Absolutely yes I would. To see your written word recreated on the big screen would be a huge personal accomplishment. Wow could you imagine that!

Q08 – What is the hardest part of the writing process for you?

It has to be finding the time where I can just write uninterrupted, I work fulltime and have three young children that take up a huge amount of my time so I do find myself writing as and when I can grab the time throughout the day.

Q09 – How do you deal with writer’s block?

I usually go work on another project and then return to it a day later, that usually helps.

Q10 – What is the single best piece of advice you could give to new writers?

Read as many books as you can in your genre and learn from others in your field. I’ve been following bestselling authors like Mark Dawson, Joanna Penn., Nick Stephenson and Derek Murphy.

Q11 – Are there any authors you would love to meet in person?

I would have loved to meet James Herbert, I grew up reading his books

Q12 – Tells us why you love writing

Creating new characters and getting involved in those lives of the people in their worlds is a satisfying experience.  Now that I’ve finally finished my first book and had some really great feedback from my beta readers it just pushes me on to do more.

Connect with Gary

Website: www.gsherwin.com

 

ARE INTERESTED IN BEING A GUEST POSTER ON THE ETERNAL SCRIBBLER? – If so please check out this post first which goes through details and has a list of available dates. Then just leave a comment with what date you are interested in but DO check out the post first.

☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~☆~

Big thanks to Gary for participating in this interview.  Do please check out his website.  His new book comes on sale on the 26th May for both kindle and paperback.

Big apologies for the delay with getting this post published. I had been struggling with my net connection and then there was the situation in Manchester which was just devastating. We have friends and family there so being on this blog was the last thing on my mind.

I’ll be back on Friday with a blog of my own, so I do hope you will check back in 🙂

Have a great week and as always happy writing.

Ari

About Ari Meghlen

I’ve been a writer since I was given unsupervised access to pens and am unable to write anything shorter than a trilogy. I live in the greener part of the UK with my awesome boyfriend, 3 mad cats and 1 overly-confident budgie. I spend my time lost in imaginary worlds, making jewellery, taking nature photos or watching bad movies. Visit me on Facebook or on my Website or just leave me a comment on this blog. I love comments 🙂

5 thoughts on “Guest post: Interview with Gary M Sherwin

Leave a Reply

